SANT'ALFIO

In an ideal position between the mountains and the sea, stands the village of Sant'Alfio. It lies on a hill that rises from the Ionian to the Etna through enchanting landscapes and botanical rarities, offering the visitor the picturesque scenery of the Mediterranean scrub and the lava desert in the space of a few kilometers. The origins of the village date back to the late 1600s and still maintains the old town almost unaltered, where you can walk through ancient streets and ancient buildings. The name of the village is linked to an ancient religious tradition: three brothers Alfio, Filadelfo and Cirino, of a noble Spanish family, were deported to Sicily, around 253 AD, and martyred here for their religious ideas related to Christianity. According to tradition, the three Holy Brothers on their journey from Taormina to Trecastagni, crossed the place where Sant'Alfio stands today. Here came the "miracle of the beam": a rushing wind unleashed suddenly freeing the three brothers from the enormous weight of the beam they had been barbarously loaded to make their journey more difficult. CHIESA MADRE, is dedicated to the three Martyr brothers. Its façade in lava stone and the bell tower make it unique. Inside it preserves marble altars enriched with precious blades, including those depicting the three Patron Saints, and an eighteenth-century painting by Vito D'Anna, Allievo Di Paolo Vasta. La Chiesetta di Nucifori is located in the homonymous village, inside which there is a bust of the Madonna del Tindari, to which the inhabitants are particularly devoted. Built by residents, without aid and without subsidies. The Holy Masses are celebrated there, besides the solemn function in honor of the Madonna del Tindari on the first Sunday of September. CHURCH OF CALVARIO It was erected in 1885 by the Sac. Domenico Caltabiano on a hill next to the village. He wanted to recall Mount Calvary and there were the functions of Good Friday with the relative procession of the Dead Christ as we continue until today. It has an imposing lava stone staircase and inside it presents a series of wooden altars, testimony to the refined art of the artisans of the time. CHURCH OF MAGAZZENI Located about 6 km from the town, was built in 1958 near the place where, thirty years earlier, an impressive lava flow that was about to invest Sant'Alfio stopped in front of the relics of the Saints carried in procession.CHESTNUT OF THE CENTO CAVALLI for its age, estimated between 2000 and 4000 years, is considered the oldest and largest tree in Europe. Its thick and luxuriant foliage inspired the legend that during a strong storm the Queen Joan of Aragon and her suite of 100 knights found shelter under the enormous chestnut tree. Today the tree is a destination for visitors from all over the world, as well as botanists for whom it is an interesting object of study. Acknowledged May 18, 2008 by the UNESCO Club of Acireale "Monument messenger of peace in the world". THE MUSEUM OF THE WINE LIVING AND OF THE ANCIENT CRAFTS Born in the late 90s. The structure is located in the central Via Coviello. Inside are the equipment, from private donations, which were once used for the production of wine and those related to rural productivity. The environments recreated with minute details make the visitor aware of the process of growing the vine until it reaches the vinification and bottling of the wine. RADICAMENTI MUSEUM _ M.A.C.E. First Museum of Contemporary Art on Etna: a space that can host and narrate works by contemporary artists ranging from sculpture to photography. A museum place conceived as a multidisciplinary space, which in ancient times was the former slaughterhouse of the Etna country. Today, the M.a.c.e. Sant'Alfio opens its doors to artists from all over the world, paying homage to the country with ad hoc works to tell the Chestnut Country of the Cento Cavalli. IL MOLINO In Sant'Alfio there has been a small mill since 1800, managed by the Casella family for three generations. The only active mill in the Ionian-Etna area, first in stone today with cylinders. It is possible to take guided tours to discover the artisan transformation of wheat into flour.